Tommy Healy Memorial Cup Final Preview

Wed, Jul 29, 2015

KDL News, Previews & Reports

Tommy Healy Memorial Cup Final
Friday 31st July 2015
Mastergeeha Fc B v Mitchels Avenue
Kick off , 7.30pm
Venue , Mounthawk Park Tralee

By Tommy Naughton

On Friday night in Mounthawk Park holders of the Tommy Healy Memorial Cup Mitchels Avenue will try to retain their Cup when they face the Denny Division 2A Runners up Mastergeeha B. This will be the third time these two sides will meet each other this season as they are both in Denny Division 2A. In their first meeting in Mastergeeha the home side won on a 2-1 score line while the return fixture in Mounthawk Park saw Mitchels Avenue winning one nil.

Mastergeeha Fc received a bye in the first round before defeating Castlemaine United C 2-1 in the second round. In the quarter final they were draw away to Annascaul Fc where they drew 3-3 before winning the replay by three goals to two. The semi final saw Mastergeeha dispose of Sporting Listowel in Mounthawk Park on a 3-0 score line.

Mitchels Avenue were draw against Tralee Celtic in the first round where they played out a scoreless draw before winning the replay by two goals to one. Next up was another Tralee side in Abhann Li where they won on a 3-0 score line. The quarter final paired Mitchels Avenue with Denny Division 2B side Bayview Rovers where they won on a 7-1 score line. The Semi Final saw Mitchels Avenue defeat Inter Kenmare B team by three goals to one to secure their spot in the final.

This should be another close game between the sides after looking at their previous meetings this season and maybe the Cup final might need another night to decide a winner.

Tommy Healy Memorial Cup 2015
1st Round
Mitchels Avenue 0-0 Tralee Celtic , Mitchels Avenue won the replay 2-1 .
Castleisland C 1-1 Ballymac Celtic , Ballymac won replay 5-4 after extra time .
2nd Round
Abhann Li 1-3 Mitchels Avenue .
Sneem Santos 3-0 CS Abbeydorney .
Mastergeeha B 2-1 Castlemaine Utd C .
Ballymac Celtic 2-2 Ballyheigue Athletic , Ballyheigue Athletic won the replay 4-0.
Classic B 1-1 Annascaul B , Annascaul won the replay 3-2 .
Castlemaine United B 0-3 Inter Kenmare B .
AC Athletic B 1-0 Sporting Listowel , ( Result overturned after appeal) .
Shannon Wanderers 1-1 Bayview Rovers . Bayview Rovers won the replay 5-2 .
3rd Round , 1/4 Final
Mitchels Avenue 7-1 Bayview Rovers .
Inter Kenmare B 1-1 Sneem Santos , Inter Kenmare B won replay 3-0 .
Annascaul B 3-3 Mastergeeha B, Mastergeeha B won replay 3-2.
Sporting Listowel 3-2 Ballyheigue Athletic .
Inter Kenmare B 1-3 Mitchels Avenue .
Mastergeeha B 3-0 Sporting Listowel .

2013/14 Mitchels Avenue Fc
2012/13 Tralee Dynamos Afc B
2011/12 Na Fianna Fc
2010/11 Inter Kenmare Fc
2009/10 Camp United
2008/09 Tralee Celtic B
2007/08 St Brendans Park B

Comments are closed.