Oscar Traynor Cup 2012/13 , Kerry DL 1-2 Defence Forces

Oscar Traynor Trophy
12th November 2012
Kerry District League 1-2 Defence Forces

As games go this was a strange one. We had three goals – all from penalties, two red cards – both for Kerry, the first of which was very harsh and resulted from two yellow cards shown to Jonathan Burrows but no excuses for the second one which was shown to Brian Spillane for ‘a rush of blood to the head’ in front of the referee. We had a goal keeper who showed signs of nerves and reacted twice as if the ball was a scud missile and a linesman whose interpretation of offside was open to question, Finally, we had a Kerry team who played better with nine players, particularly when they brought on three substitutes and we saw a man of the match display from Con Barrett.
Kerry were in disarray for the first twenty minutes and were stretched to the limit by the Defence Forces who had two outstanding players in Gerry Walsh at midfield and Aiden Friel in attack.
Kerry actually created two chances from the pin point crosses of Scott Monaghan to Con Barrett, who was dragged to the ground for the first – but got no penalty, and was denied by an alert keeper for the second – after leaving two defenders in his wake. Despite their lions share of possession the Defence Forces had to wait until the 44th minute for the first goal from Stephen Fisher..
Early in the second half a great Con Barrett effort was cleared off the line after he had intercepted a back pass and rounded the keeper..
Then two Kerry players were sent off which left them fighting an uphill battle that was made impossible when the Defence Forces doubled their lead in the 68th minute. The introduction of Donnacha Higgins,, Sean Foley and Fergal Maunsel brought stability to the Kerry side and their efforts were rewarded when Peter McCarthy pulled a goal back with seven minutes to play.

Kerry: Stephen Bartlett, Jonathan Burrows, Brian Spillane, David Hayes, Scott Monaghan, Stephen Hayes, Maurice O’Rahilly, Bryan Murphy, Gary Keane, Peter McCarthy, Con Barrett,