Oscar Traynor Cup 1/4 Final 2013/14 , Kerry DL v UCFL

Oscar Traynor Cup 1/4 Final 2013/14

Sunday 23rd February 2014
Oscar Traynor Cup 1/4 Final
Kerry District League 4-2 United Churches League

By Tommy Naughton

The Kerry District League continuted with their impressive form this season in the Oscar Traynor Trophy with a win over the UCFL that sets up a semi final clash with the Clare League.

The opening moments saw both sides trying to get the measure of each other but the away side had the better of the opening chances, which came as a surprise when you consider they only arrived at the venue less than 40 minutes before kick off.

Derek Preston had the first chance but David Hennessey gathered his shot at the second attempt. The ball went straight down the pitch where Gintarus Paketarus put Danny Roche in but Mark Lynam saved well at the expense of a corner. The UCFL seemed to be in control of the game with in the first quarter and Shane Guthrie had to be at his best to block another Preston effort.

However as the half wore on Kerry began to dominate and the UCL were left too few chances from the odd counter attack. Mark Lynam in the UCL goal was shown a yellow card on the half hour mark when he took down Peter McCarthy outside the area. James Sugrue’s resulting free was clawed away from the top corner by Lyna.

This game was finished as a contest five minutes either side of the half time break.

Kerry took the lead in the 41st minute when Shane Guthrie got on the end of a James Sugrue corner but his header was somehow cleared off the line by Daryl Kinsella, however Jonathan Burrows reacted quickest to volley how for a great opener. With a minute left in the half Kerry doubled their lead when McCarthy was put in by Danny Roche and when his goal bound shot was blocked, Paketarus was on hand to finish home to give Kerry a deserved lead at half time.

The Second half started where the first finished and in the 46th minute it was three nil. David Hennessey sent Paketarus away on the counter attack with a fantastic clearance and his low cross was hammered home by Peter McCarthy.

Three minutes later the game as a contest was over. Bryan Murphy and Gintarus Paketarus did the ground work to set McCarthy up but his shot came back of the upright where Paketarus was on hand to score his second goal of the match.

Credit to the UCL that they never just gave up and Robbie O’Neill was denied by a fantastic save by David Hennessey. Derek Preston got the goal his work ethic deserved when he scored from the penalty spot on the hour mark after Kevin McCarthy had taken down O Neill.

But a minute later disaster struck again for the visitors when keeper Mark Lynam was shown his second yellow card for an awful tackle outside his area on Danny Roche. The UCL pulled another goal back with ten minutes to go when Declan Murtagh finished home a Robbie O’Neill cross.

Kerry were now able to exploit the inevitable gaps and the UCFL had several narrow escapes with last gasp defending required to prevent any further concessions.

It truly was a day to forget for the UCFL as they were later delayed for over two hours when their bus broke down on the way home.

Kerry are now into the semi finals for the second time in three years and will have a home tie against the Clare League in the coming weeks as they try to secure a place in the final of a tournament they are yet to win after losing two finals in their Oscar Traynor history.

Kerry District League: David Hennessey (Mitchels Avenue) , Maurice o Rahilly (Tralee Dynamos) , John McDonagh (Killarney Celtic), Shane Guthrie (Tralee Dynamos) , Jonathan Burrows (Tralee Dynamos) , James Sugrue(Tralee Dynamos) , Bryan Murphy (Listowel Celtic) , Gary Keane(Killarney Celtic), , Peter McCarthy(Killarney Celtic), , Gintarus Paketarus(Killarney Celtic), Danny Roche(Tralee Dynamos) . Subs , Kevin McCarthy (Listowel Celtic) for John McDonagh , Fergal Maunsel(St Brendans Park) for Danny Roche .

UCFL: Mark Lynam (Terenure FC), Niall Butler (Clontarf Athletic), Pierce Walsh (Tereure FC), Ruairi Sheridan, Darryl Kinsella (FC Sportslink Ailesbury), Ger Barry (Terenure FC) (capt), David Hempenstall (Clontarf Athletic), David Hempenstall (Clontarf Athletic), Derek Treston (San Marino), Declan Murtagh (Terenure FC), Robbie O’Neill (Clontarf Athletic). Subs – Ross Dawson (Terenure FC) for Sheridan (45 mins), Graham White (Terenure FC) for Hempenstall (45 mins), Daniel Davis (FC Sportslink Ailesbury) for Walsh (68 mins); subs not used – John Costello (Glasnaion), Anthony Dunne (VEC), William Wylie (FC Sportslink AilesburyEoin Bennis (FC Sportslink Ailesbury) .

Comments are closed.