Munster Junior Cup Final Preview

Categories :

Munster Junior Cup Final
Sunday 17th May 2015
Tralee Dynamos (Kerry) v Carrick United (Waterford)
Kick off , 2.00pm
Venue Mounthawk Park Tralee
MFA Admission, Adults €10 , Underage €2 .

By Tommy Naughton

All roads will lead to Mounthawk Park on Sunday when Tralee Dynamos take on Carrick United in the Munster Junior Cup Final. This is only the second time a Kerry side will contest the Munster Junior Cup final after Killarney Celtic lost to Ballincollig in Fossa in 1989. While its Tralee Dynamos first time to reach this stage it will be Carrick United’s fifth time having won it twice already.

Some might feel Tralee Dynamos will go into this game as underdogs with the history and experience Carrick United have in this competition . However Tralee Dynamos have loads of experience in their own squad with many of them playing in the League of Ireland A Championship only a few years ago for the club. Jonathan Burrows , Maurice o Rahilly and ex Galway United player Derek o Brien all won the FAI Youth Cup in 1998 with Tralee Dynamos. Dynamos will be without the services of Steven Conway who is away in America for the weekend due to work commitments but will welcome back ex League of Ireland player Shane Guthrie who missed the semi final win in Limerick. Tralee Dynamos will also look to other experience players such as James Sugrue , Jamie McIntyre and Jonathan Hannafin who have also had League of Ireland experience at different levels to try get them over the line on Sunday while up top they have a game winner in Gintarus Paketarus. Tralee Dynamos last weekend secured their place in this seasons Kerry District League Premier A League Final with a win at home over Camp United. After 17 league games they have won 11, drawn 5 and lost on only one occasion scoring 49 goals and conceding 21. In the Munster Junior Cup they have scored 17 goals and conceded only 7 in seven games. This may not be a home game in their own grounds but the fact that’s its very close in Mounthawk Park will give Dynamos Fans the chance to give the extra support they might need after playing six of their seven games in this competition away from home.

This will be Carrick’s 5th appearance in the provincial final since 2003/2004 when they beat Clonmel Town 1-0 after extra time, Barry Murphy getting the winner. That season Carrick also reached the finals of the FAI Junior Cup and Munster Senior Cup. Carrick of course famously won the Fai Junior Cup in 2008. Carrick again reach the Munster final in 2008-09 losing 2-0 to Fairview Rangers. The trophy retuned to Carrick the following year after a 2-0 win over Clonmel Town again after extra time. The following year Carrick made it three final appearances in a row, losing most unlucky to St Michaels 1-0. But they made amends by winning the Munster Senior Cup a few weeks later beating Cork City and Limerick along the way. Between the final appearances there have been two semi-final defeats. In that time span Carrick has won 11 Waterford Premier League titles, seen players gain international junior caps with two players gaining the FAI player of the year awards.
The season past has had its difficulties for Carrick with 9 first team players falling out of selection duties, due to injury, work overseas and League of Ireland transfers. However those remaining coped well reaching the last 6 of the FAI Junior cup and losing out on league honours in the final game of the season 10 days ago against Waterford Hibs. Carrick will hope their experienced players who have won everything in junior football will aid the younger members of the team on the day.

As huge crowd is expected for this game supporters are asked to co-operate with the following guidelines;
1. COME EARLY , and obey the Gardaí (Outside the grounds) , Stewards (Inside Mounthawk Park) at all times.
2. All parking of vehicles in Mounthawk Park (Unless Otherwise Directed).
3. Over flow parking prepared base of all weather pitch.
4. NO parking on road between Tralee Dynamos Grounds and Christy Leahy Park.
5. The Red Cross will be on duty and their base will be clearly visible.
Their will be a coaching course for kids on the all weather training area and a discount for those who register for the upcoming FAI Summer Soccer Schools on the day.

Tralee Dynamos and Carrick United, paths to the final…
Tralee Dynamos
1st Round
Dingle Bay Rovers  3-4  Tralee Dynamos
2nd Round
Tralee Dynamos  2-0  Fenit Samphires
3rd Round
St Brendans Park  1-2  Tralee Dynamos AET
4th Round
Drinagh Rangers (West Cork)  0-1  Tralee Dynamos
5th Round
Park United (Cork)  0-1  Tralee Dynamos
Quarter Final
Ballingarry (Limerick)  0-2  Tralee Dynamos
Semi Final
Janesboro (Limerick)  1-3  Tralee Dynamos

Carrick United
1st Round
Crusaders  1-4  Carrick United
2nd Round
Carrick United  6-1  Kilmacow
3rd Round
Tramore FC  0-2  Carrick United
4th Round
BT Harps (Tipperary)  1-4  Carrick United
5th Round
Hibernians (Waterford)  0-1  Carrick United
Quarter Final
St Michaels (Tipperary)  0-0  Carrick United. Carrick United win 4-3 on penalties.
Semi Final
Carrick United  3-0  Newmarket Celtic (Clare)

Tralee Dynamos, Josh o Reilly, Maurice o Rahilly, Jonathan Burrows, Shane Guthrie, Jonathan Hannafin, Jamie McIntyre, James Sugrue, Steven Conway, Derek O’Brien, Danny Roche, Gintarus Paketarus, Anthony Murphy, John Farragher, Joe Weir, Theo Diggins, Cian Kennedy, Aaron Houlihan, Uros Ivkovic, Des Benson, Mark Fitzgerald, Dara Lowth . Managers Mark Fitzgerald and Ross o Connor.

Carrick United, Adrian Walsh, Dale o’Mahony, John Walsh, Anthony O Donnell, Anthony Fitzpatrick, Richie Lawrence, John Murphy, Ian Clery, Anthony Power, Timmy Ryan, Barry Walsh, Jamie Waters, Glen Kevane, John James Keyes, James Walsh, Stephen Kerwick, Keith Walsh, Lee Wall, Martin Griffin, Thomas Ryan, Gerry Robinson. Managers, Adrian Walsh, John White and John Grace .

All involved in the Kerry District League would like to wish Tralee Dynamos the very best of Luck on Sunday.