Listowel Celtic and Classic FC Must Meet Again In Premier B Final

Categories :

Denny Premier B Final

Stalemate as Listowel Celtic and Classic FC must meet again

Listowel Celtic 1                   Classic FC 1

Listowel Celtic and Classic FC must do it all over again following their 1-1 draw in this Denny Premier B final played at Mounthawk Park last evening before a large crowd.

In truth a draw was just about right as this game never rose above mediocrity though Listowel Celtic had strong claims that they deserved victory based on their second half dominance. Whether it was nerves playing in front of a crowd or the fact,  that it was a final with so much at stage, the ball spend too much time in the air and the play was scrappy for long periods.

Listowel Celtic took the lead in the 12th minute when Bryan Murphy floated over a corner to the back post and Pa Walsh directed his header just underneath the Classic crossbar.

However the lead only last a minute because Classic hit back with Anthony McAuliffe racing down the left wing, before sending in a dangerous cross that David Courtney dummied allowing Brendan Smyth to slide the ball to Celtic net. David Courtney and Gary O’Connor looked lively for Classic but they failed to hit the target but Listowel should have gone in front in the 37th minute when Bryan Murphy dispossessed Garry Kissane as he tried to clear but his delicate chip shaved the post and a minute later Mikey Paul Kelliher had strong claims for a penalty turned down.

The second half saw Listowel take over with Tommy Keane and Kieran O’Sullivan making huge impacts off the bench while David Sheehy made a late cameo appearance. It was all Celtic but they could not break through Timmy Lynch and his solid defence so both sides live to fight another day when hopefully they standard will be much better.


Listowel Celtic

Kevin Flavin, Conor O’Neill, Martin Loughnane, Michael Lynch, Seamus Keane, Mark Twomey, Bryan Murphy, Pa Walsh, M P Kelliher, Adam Twomey, Robbie Hanlon

Subs: Kieran O’Sullivan for M P Kelliher, Tommy Keane for A Twomey, David Sheehy for R Hanlon

Classic FC

Gary Kissane, Shane Murphy, Anthony McAuliffe, Timmy Lynch, Martin Courtney,. Mark Tagney, Brendan Smyth, Jonathon Conway, Gary O’Connor, David Courtney, Mike Conway

Subs: Kenneth Leahy  for Mark Tagney, Tommy Sheridan for J Conway, Jason Casey for D Courtney

Referee  Kevin O’Regan