Gryehound Bar KO Cup Final Preview

Greyhound Bar KO Cup Final
Friday 03rd July 2015
Castleisland AFC v Listowel Celtic AFC
Kick off , 7.30pm
Venue , Mounthawk Park Tralee

By Tommy Naughton

Friday night will see Castleisland Afc and Listowel Celtic facing each other in this seasons Greyhound Bar KO Cup Final. Last season the same two sides met in the final which Castleisland won by three goals to one ( Read match report HERE).

Castleisland Afc will be trying to claim the cup for the third time since 2012 . In the first round they defeat fellow Premier A side Dingle Bay Rovers by 4 goal to nil . The second round saw Castleisland receiving another home tie where the defeated Denny Division 1A side CSKA Tralee on a 7-0 score line. The quarter final saw Castleisland hosting new promoted Premier A side Fenit Samphires which they got passed after a replay on a 3-0 score line after the first game finished scoreless. In the semi final they met Denny division 2A side Mitchels Avenue and again claimed another clean sheet winning by two goals to nil. After five games in the Greyhound Bar cup Castleisland have scored 16 goals and are yet to concede any .

Listowel Celtic will be looking to put behind them their poor Denny Premier A final and try to claim the Greyhound Bar KO Cup for the first time since 1995. Listowel received a bye in the first round before hosting Denny Division 1B side CG Killarney which they won on a 3-0 score line. The quarter final saw Listowel travel to Killarney where they faced Killarney Athletic and came away with a spot in the last four thanks to a 3-1 win. In their semi final in Mounthawk Park they got the better of the Denny Premier B League Champions Mastergeeha Fc by a single goal. In their three Greyhound Bar cup games Listowel Celtic have scored seven goals while have only conceded on one occasion.

Castleisland Afc and Listowel Celtic have met twice this season in the Denny Premier A , Castleisland won this first game at home on a big 6-2 score line. The second game in Listowel saw both teams sharing the spoils in a 1-1 draw. Castleisland have had the better of the meetings in recent finals between theses two sides after they also defeated Listowel Celtic in the 2014 Premier A League final after a replay. Listowel will look to end the season on a high after reaching the last 16 of the FAI Junior Cup and finishing runners up in the Denny Premier A.


1st Round

Listowel Celtic receive a Bye into Round 2.
Killarney Athletic 1-0 Castlemaine United .
Tralee Dynamos 7-0 Killorglin Afc .
Tralee Athletic receive a Bye into Round 2 .
Mitchels Avenue A 2-0 QPR .
CSKA Tralee 5-0 Rattoo Rovers .
St Brendans Park 2-1 Ballymac Galaxy .
Mastergeeha Fc receive a Bye into Round 2 .
Killarney Celtic receive a Bye into Round 2 .
Inter Kenmare 2-0 Annascaul Fc .
Classic Fc 2-2 Tralee Celtic . Tralee Celtic won the replay 9-8 on penalties after the game finished 1-1 .
Castleisland Afc 4-0 Dingle Bay Rovers .
AC Athletic 2-0 Ballyheigue Athletic .
CG Killarney 1-1 Spa Road , CG Killarney received a walk over in the replay .
Fenit Samphires 2-1 Asdee Rovers .
Mitchels Avenue B 0-3 Camp United .

2nd Round

Tralee Dynamos 1-1 Killarney Athletic , Killarney Athletic won replay 5-3 on penalties after game finished 3-3.
St Brendans Park 4-2 Mastergeeha , (Result overturned after appeal) .
Camp United 0-3 Mitchels Avenue A .
Castleisland Afc 7-0 CSKA Tralee .
Fenit Samphires 4-2 Tralee Athletic .
Listowel Celtic 3-0 CG Killarney .
Killarney Celtic 6-1 Inter Kenmare .
AC Athletic 3-1 Tralee Celtic .

3rd Round , 1/4 finals

Killarney Athletic 1-3 Listowel Celtic .
AC Athletic 3-6 Mitchels Avenue .
Castleisland Afc 0-0 Fenit Samphires , Castleisland won the replay 3-0.
Killarney Celtic 1-4 Mastergeeha Fc .

Semi Finals

Mitchels Avenue 0-2 Castleisland Afc .
Listowel Celtic 1-0 Mastergeeha Fc .


2013/14 Castleisland Afc
2012/13 St Brendans Park Fc
2011/12 Castleisland Afc
2010/11 St Brendans Park Fc
2009/10 Killarney Celtic
2008/09 Lisselton Rovers Fc
2007/08 Rattoo Rovers
2006/07 Tralee Dynamos Afc
2005/06 Killarney Celtic
2004/05 Liselton Rovers Fc
2003/04 Killarney Athletic
2002/03 Killarney Celtic
2001/02 Camp United Fc
2000/01 St Brendans Park Fc
1999/00 Tralee Dynamos
1998/99 Rattoo Rovers Fc
1997/98 Lisselton Rovers
1996/97 Inter Kenmare Fc
1995/96 Killarney Celtic
1994/95 Listowel Celtic
1993/94 Tralee Dynamos Afc
1992/93 An Gleann
1991/92 Callinafercy Fc
1990/91 Tralee Dynamos Afc
1989/90 St Brendans Park Fc
1988/89 St Brendans Park Fc
1985/86 Tralee United
1978/79 Listowel Celtic
1977/78 Killarney Celtic
1976/77 St Brendans Park Fc
1975/76 St Brendans Park Fc
1974/75 Cahersiveen Fc
1973/74 Cahersiveen Fc
1972/73 Cahersiveen Fc
1971/72 Tralee Dynamos Afc