Dominos Pizza U17 Cup Final; Fenit Samphires 3-1 Dingle Bay Rovers

Fenit Samphires , Dominos Pizza U17 Cup Champions 2016
Fenit Samphires , Dominos Pizza U17 Cup Champions 2016

Dominos Pizza U17 Cup Final
Sunday 31st July 2016
Fenit Samphires 3-1 Dingle Bay Rovers

Report and Pictures by Tommy Naughton. Images Copyright to KDL ,No usage without permission by any other website, Facebook or Twitter Pages .

Fenit Samphires claimed the Dominos Pizza U17 Cup title on Sunday when they overcame the challenge of Dingle Bay Rovers.
Both sides seemed pretty nervous in the opening encounters with neither side keeping hold of possession and never creating any clear chances . It took 23 minutes before the first shot came after Dingle broke quickly from defence with Niall Geaney picking out Joe Kennedy on the right wing and his perfect cross found Adam McAuliffe inside the penalty area but his shot rose high over the crossbar. This seemed to spark Fenit into life and minutes later Eoin Brosnan in the Dingle goal had to react quickly to deny Conor Lowe.
Fenit were now beginning to dominate and again Eoin Brosnan had to save this time from Jack Lynch and then again to deny Sean Donnellan with the final attack of the first half.
Fenit started the second like they finished the first putting Dingle on the back foot and within fifteen minutes of the restart the had the lead when Conor Lowe was taken down inside the penalty area by Brian O’Connor. Conor took the responsibility himself and sent the keeper the wrong way . Six minutes later and it was 2-0 when a Conor Lowe Corner was headed to the back of the net by Cormac O’Brien.
Dingle now had no choice but to throw men forward and Brian O’Regan denied Liam O’Bambaire at the expense of a corner with fifteen minutes remaining. From the resulting corner by Joe Kennedy Dingle pulled a goal back when Franz Sauerland from himself unmarked and made no mistake with a powerful header.
With Dingle now going for the equaliser their was always a chance they could be caught on the break and it did happen with only five minutes remaining when Conor Lowe set up Padraig Donnellan to score and seal the win for Fenit Samphires.

Fenit Samphires; Brian O’Regan , Ciaran Murray, Dean Meehan, Sean Donnellan, Austin Clifford, Ciaran Carmody, Cormac O’Brien, Sean Collins, Conor Lowe, Christopher Murphy, Jack Lynch. Subs, Padraig Donnellan for Jack Lynch 77 mins.
Dingle Bay Rovers ; Eoin Brosnan, Sean Og Moran, Liam O’Bambaire, Brian O’Connor, Thomas Devane, Cathal Ferriter, Joe Kennedy, Mark Ashe, Niall Geaney, Luke O’Connell, Adam McAuliffe . Subs; Ruadhan McCarthy for Adam McAuliffe 55 mins, Franz Sauerland for Luke O’Connell 67 mins, Joe Saunders for Sean og Moran 71 mins .

Officials ;
Referee , Derek O’Shea
Assistants , Kevin Cunningham & Martin Courtney .