Dominos Pizza Reserve Cup Final Preview; Killarney Celtic B v Castlemaine United

Fri, Aug 21, 2015

KDL News, Previews & Reports


Dominos Pizza Reserve Cup Final
Friday 21st August 2015
Killarney Celtic B  v  Castlemaine United
Kick off , 7.30pm
Venue , Mounthawk Park

By Tommy Naughton

Killarney Celtic B and Castlemaine United will meet in Mounthawk Park to se who will be crowned the Dominos Pizza Reserve Cup Champions for 2015. Killarney Celtic B last won this competition back in 2012 while Castlemaine United will be hoping for they can lift the trophy for the first time in their clubs history.

Premier B side Killarney Celtic B received a bye in the first round before defeated fellow Premier B side Ballyhar Dynamos by four goals to nil in the second round. In the third round they defeated another Premier B side Classic Fc 4-0 , this time in a replay after the first game finished 1-1. Their quarter final again went to a replay after a scoreless draw against Denny Division 1A side QPR but Celtic came out on top in the replay with the only goal of the game. In the semi Final Killarney Celtic defeated Fenit Samphires who have gained promotion to Premier A on an 8-4 score line.

Denny Division 1A side Castlemaine United also received a bye in the first round before they face Denny Division 2A League Champions in the second round. After a tight first game which finished two all Castlemaine won the replay by two goals to one. The third round saw Castlemaine defeat Shannon Wanderers from Denny Division 2B at home by three goals to nil and set up a quarter final tie against fellow Denny Division 1A side Castlegregory Celtic . This quarter final again went to a replay after one all draw before Castlemaine won the replay in extra time on a 2-1 score line. The semi final saw Castlemaine defeat Denny Division 2B Runners up Ballyheigue Athletic in Mounthawk Park where they won by two goals to nil to secure their place in the final.

Killarney Celtic will go into the game as slight favourites being from a higher division but Castlemaine will be full of belief in each others ability and don’t count out Castlemaine United claiming their first ever Reserve Cup title.

Dominos Pizza Reserve Cup 2015
1st Round
Annascaul Fc 2-3 Tralee Athletic .
Ballybunion Fc 3-0 Skeliga Fc .
Ballymac Celtic 3-0 Spa Road .
Mastergeeha Fc B 3-0 AN Other .
Bayview Rovers 3-0 Na Fianna Fc .
AC Athletic 4-1 Castleisland B .
Abhann Li 0-3 Mitchels Avenue .
Listowel Celtic B 4-0 CG Killarney .
2nd Round
Fenit Samphires 1-0 St Brendans Park B .
Sneem Santos 0-3 Mitchels Avenue B .
Ballyheigue Athletic 0-0 Killarney Athletic B , Ballyheigue won the replay 1-0 .
QPR 3-0 Ballymac Celtic .
Mastergeeha Fc 4-1 Asdee Rovers .
Sporting Listowel 1-2 Inter Kenmare .
Ballymac Galaxy 4-1 Listowel Celtic B .
Strand Road 0-3 Ballybunion Fc .
Mitchels Avenue 2-4 Classic Fc .
Bayview Rovers 0-6 Tralee Athletic .
Killarney Celtic B 4-0 Ballyhar Dynamos .
Tralee Celtic 2-2 Castlemaine United , Castlemaine United won the replay 2-1.
Shannon Wanderers 3-0 Athletico Ardfert .
Mastergeeha Fc B 0-4 Castlegregory Celtic .
AC Athletic 2-2 Killorglin Fc B , AC Athletic won the replay 8-7 on penalties after game finished 2-2.
Rattoo Rovers B 0-3 CSKA Tralee .
3rd Round
Mitchels Avenue B 1-3 Ballyheigue Athletic .
Ballymac Galaxy 0-7 Fenit Samphires .
Castlemaine United 3-0 Shannon Wanderers .
AC Athletic 4-1 CSKA Tralee .
Classic Fc 1-1 Killarney Celtic B , Killarney Celtic B won the replay 4-0.
QPR 1-0 Ballybunion Fc .
Mastergeeha Fc A 1-0 Inter Kenmare .
Tralee Athletic 2-2 Castlegregory Celtic ., Castlegregory Celtic won the replay 1-0.
1/4 Finals
QPR 0-0 Killarney Celtic B, Killarney Celtic B won the replay 1-0.
AC Athletic 1-2 Ballyheigue Athletic.
Fenit Samphires 6-0 Mastergeeha Fc.
Castlemaine United 1-1 Castlegregory Celtic, Castlemaine Won the replay 2-1 AET.
Fenit Samphires 4-8 Killarney Celtic B.
Ballyheigue Athletic 0-2 Castlemaine United

DOMINOS PIZZA RESERVE CUP WINNERS ( Previously known as the Henneberys Sports Cup)
2013/14 Mitchels Avenue Fc
2012/13 Tralee Dynamos Afc
2011/12 Killarney Celtic Fc B
2010/11 Dingle Bay Rovers
2009/10 Classic Fc
2008/09 Killorglin Afc
2007/08 St Brendans Park Fc
2005/06 AC Athletic
2004/05 Fenit Samphires
2003/04 Currans Fc
2002/03 Inter Kenmare Fc
2001/02 Ballyhar Dynamos
1997/98 Castleisland Afc
1994/95 St Brendans Park Fc
1993/94 Skeliga Fc
1989/90 Valley Rovers Fc
1985/86 Kerryhead Rovers
1982/83 Ballyhar Dynamos
1981/82 Ballyhar Dynamos
1980/81 Listowel Celtic
1977/78 Asdee Rovers .

Comments are closed.