Dominos Pizza Reserve Cup Final 2014

Dominos Pizza Reserve Cup Final 2014

Friday 15th August , 2014
Mitchell’s Avenue 2-0 AC Athletic

By Tommy Naughton

The Rose of Tralee Festivities were not the only celebrations taking place in Tralee on Friday night. Local side Mitchels Avenue clinched the Dominos Pizza Reserve Cup Final in their very first season when the over came the challenge of AC Athletic and celebrated accordingly. On the night the deserved to claim the cup as they were much the better team and could have won by a bigger margin but for a strong AC Athletic defensive unit.

Mitchels Avenue could have gone ahead numerous times in the first half but Sean o Reilly, Darren Breen and Lorcan Seymour all failed to take advantage of great opportunities. Even though Mitchels were well on top it took a great save from Chris Hegarty to deny Adam Whyte giving AC the lead just after the half hour . The opening goal came just on the stroke of half time when Robert o Sullivan volleyed home from a Mitchels Avenue Corner to take them into the break ahead .

The second half was much the same as the first with the Avenue having the lines share of possession . They doubled their lead after the hour mark when Lorcan Seymour’s cross found Darren Breen who made no mistake with a sublime finish . AC tried hard to get back into the game and introduced players Eamonn Fitzmaurice but they just could not get passed a resolute defensive . AC were reduced to ten men late in the match when John Mike Dooley picked up his second yellow card and it got worse when they were reduced to nine after Adam Whyte was shown a straight red for placing his hands on the match referee in frustration . This killed off any chance of a comeback and Mitchels Avenue easily saw of the remainder of the game to be crowned champions .

Mitchell’s Avenue : Chris Hegarty, Liam O’Sullivan, Robert O’Sullivan, Chris O’Sullivan, Lorcan Seymour, Darren Breen, David Hennessy, Sean O’Reilly, Jarad o’Sullivan, Peter Murphy, Craig Locke.

AC Athletic : Cyril Dineen, Conor Diggins, Mark Walshe, Jason Diggins, Paul O’Carroll, John M. Dooley, Adam Whyte, Shane Leahy, Joseph Diggins, Mark Murphy, Jason Diggins.

Referee : Eddie o Mahony .