Denny Premier B League Final ; Fenit Samphires 2-2 Mastergeeha Fc

Denny Premier B League Final
Thursday 28th May 2015
Fenit Samphires 2-2 Mastergeeha FC

Pictures and Report by Tommy Naughton
(Pictures Copyright to KDL & T.Naughton and cannot be used without anywhere else without permission)

Fenit Samphires and Mastergeeha Fc will have to meet again to see who will be crowned Premier B Champions after an enthralling League Final on Thursday night . Both sides must be credited for giving the large crowd in attendance great entertainment through out the game.

After an opening ten minutes with neither side able to get the better off the other the first goal chance came after an defensive error. A long free kick by Tony Brosnan was sent high into the Fenit Penalty area where keeper Michael O Leary came to gather. The ball slipped through his hands and bounced just the wrong side of the goal frame for a corner. From the resulting corner Fenit Samphires broke Quickly with Daniel Clinton picking out Ger McCarthy on the right wing. His cross was directly into the path of Bill Mullins on the edge of the box but his touch was to heavy and bounced away from him towards the end line where he managed to pull it back to Klaudio Dema outside the box where his first time effort was saved by Tadhg Aherne. Minutes later the deadlock was broken by Mastergeeha when Darragh McCarthy found some space on the left wing , His perfectly placed cross was directed home by a powerful header from Colm Lenihan.
It didn’t take long for Fenit to regroup and were nearly level on the 22nd minute mark when Ian McCarthy crashed a volley of the crossbar from a Peter McCarthy corner. A short back pass to the Mastergeeha keeper moments later by Paul Lenihan was intercepted by Ger McCarthy but his effort was rushed and wide at the near post. Mastergeeha nearly doubled their lead on the half hour mark after Tony Brosnan took down a Ricky Fleming Cross inside the penalty area but his well struck shot was saved by the quickly advancing Michael o Leary. With five minutes to the break Tadhg Aherne produced a brilliant sae to keep Mastergeeha ahead at the break. After a quick one two between Bill Mullins and Sean Foley , Mullins curled the ball towards the far bottom corner where Aherne somehow got down to push away one handed.
The opening exchanges in the second half lacked the intensity that we saw in the opening forty five but that is no surprise after the effort that was shown by both sides in the first half. Both sides began to make changes in the first twenty minutes as players began to tire. The game was turned on its head in a sixty second spell midway through the half. With 68 minutes gone on the clock Fenit Samphires were awarded a free kick on the edge of the 18 yard box. Peter McCarthy took on the responsibility and drilled the ball into the top corner giving the keeper no chance to level the game. Straight from the restart Fenit won the ball and were awarded a free kick on the left win after Bill Mullins was taken down by Alan O Brien who was cautioned for the tackle. The resulting free kick was delivered low into the Mastergeeha box by Peter McCarthy and somehow missed everyone and found the back of the net to give Fenit the lead.
From here on Fenit sat back and tried to close out the game with trying to hit Mastergeeha on the Counter attack which they almost succeeding in doing until the 89th minute. Tony Brosnan delivered an in swinging corner from the right side of the pitch into a crowded goal mouth where a number of players rose together where the ball crashed off the crossbar and into the air. As it dropped from the sky Scott O Mahony reacted quickest to head the ball home from close range to delight the Mastergeeha following. Minutes later the final whistle went on what was a hugely entertaining game and in the end a draw was probably the fairest result on the night.
One final word of credit to the match officials who were excellent throughout which helped to produced an entertaining night of football.

Fenit Samphires; Michael O Leary, John Moore, Ruairi Kelly, Ian McCarthy, Peter McCarthy, Ger McCarthy, Sean Foley, Bill Mullins, Darren Lynch, Daniel Clinton, Klaudio Dema. Subs, Jack Savage for Ruairi Kelly (65 mins), Sean Allen for Bill Mullins (85 mins) .

Fenit Samphires Fc

Mastergeeha Fc; Tadhg Aherne, Alan O Brien, Alan Moynihan, Paul Lenihan, Aidan Kerins, Colm Lenihan, Ricky Fleming, Chris Egan, Damien Breen, Tony Brosnan, Darragh McCarthy. Subs, John Devane for Alan Moynihan(58 mins), Scott O Mahony for Damien Breen (65 mins).

Mastergeeha Fc

Match Officials;
Referee , Derek O Shea
Assistants , Anthony Morrison and Adrian o Shea .

Match Officials and Captains