Denny Ladies League Final 2013/14 , Tralee Dynamos v Listowel Celtic

Denny Ladies League Final 2013/14

Kerry District League
14th April 2014
Tralee Dynamos 1-6 Listowel Celtic

By Tommy Naughton

Listowel Celtic are the Denny Ladies League Champions for 2013/14 after they hit Tralee Dynamos for six in an intriguing decider.

The scoreline suggests a one way rout, but Dynamos had their opponents in trouble up to the hour mark and fought hard throughout. The newly formed outfit made Celitc work for the win, were ahead at the 50 minute mark and only lost out to a late onslaught.

Celtic were able to bring an Irish underage star off the bench and a front player that hit two goals, ultimately that debt proved the difference.

The game was only minutes old when Tralee Dynamos keeper pulled off a fantastic reaction save to deny Amy Foley after a great cross from Miriam o Keefe as Celtic threatened early on.

Ten minutes in Dynamos had their first real attack, Natasha O’Sullivan broke into the penalty area where she was tripped while in possession and awarded a penalty.

O’Sullivan dusted herself down and calmly slotted the ball home to give the underdogs the lead. Listowel came right back into the game and had early chances from Miriam O’Keefe, Rachel Cronin and Amy Foley, but all found Laura Fitzgerald in the Dynamos goal in terrific form.

On the half hour Dynamos almost doubled their lead. Andrea Agajeva played a long ball down the right wing to O’Sullivan, who got to the end line before pulling the ball back to the on rushing Izzy Perez, who shot first time but saw her attempt sailing over the crossbar .

Listowel played with the breeze in the second half and with the wind at their backs began to pin their opponents deep in their half.

Ten minutes into the second period Listowel were awarded a penalty after the referee deemed that the ball had hit a hand in the penalty area. Mag’s Fitzgerald made no mistake to level matters. Two minutes later and Listowel made a double substitution bringing on c and both players would have a huge say in the match.

Within a minute of being on the pitch Patrice Dennehy gave Celtic the lead after an uncharacteristic mistake by Fitzgerald in the Dynamos goal. Two minutes later and it was 3-1 when Miriam o Keefe’s well struck shot was parried away by Fitzgerald towards a Dynamos defender, whose clearance cannoned off Cassandra Buckley and the ball rolled over the goal line.

The Dynamos heads never dropped but their opened fitness levels were beginning to tell. Dynamos introduced Jeanette Dzeneta and Alison O Sullivan to try get back into the game but Listowel had an ace waiting on the side lines.

With twenty three minutes to go they introduced Rep of Ireland U19 star Savanah McCarthy who had just returned from Turkey were she help Ireland reach the European Championships. Listowel killed the game as a contest with fifteen minutes left when a Mag’s Fitzgerald cross was volleyed home by Miriam O’Keefe for a fantastic goal. McCarthy then got on the score sheet with ten minutes remaining after O’Keefe, who had an outstanding match picked her out with a delightful through ball.

The scoring was finished off in the final minutes by Cassandra Buckley who scored her second since coming off the bench .

League Secretary Presented the Trophy to the Listowel Celtic Captain Claire Kennelly after the match and thanks both teams for their hard work throughout the season .

Tralee Dynamos; Laura Fitzgerald, Karenna Slattery, Norma o Connor , Orla Cannon, Paula o Regan, Cilla Beer, Andrea Agajeva, Izzy Perez, Carron o Brien, Kim Clover , Natasha o Sullivan . Subs used , Mary Sugrue, Alison o Sullivan , Jeanette Dzeneta

Listowel Celtic ; Triona Sheehy, Claire Kennelly, Kate Sayers, Louise Horgan, Megan Fealey , Rachel Cronin, Mags Fitzgerald, Norma O’Sullivan, Olivia Scanlon, Miriam O’Keffee and Amy Foley. Subs used, Patrice Dennehy, Cassandra Buckley, Savannah McCarthy .

Referee ; Willie Gorman