Denny Division 2A 2013/14 , Rattoo Rovers B v Annascaul Fc

Fri, Oct 18, 2013

KDL News, Previews & Reports

Denny Division 2A 2013/14

Friday 18th October 2013
Division 2A
Rattoo Rovers B 4-2 Annascaul Fc

By Tommy Naughton

This was a game that never came to life until the final twenty minutes when it exploded into life with a Bang.

Rattoo started much stronger in the game, passing the ball better and creating most of the early chances. Eddie Joy had the first chance but his shot from a tight angle just curled outside the far post with the Annascaul keeper stranded.

Rattoo were well on top all over the field in the opening quarter of an hour but were hit with a sucker punch in the 17th minute when
Greg Ashe was taken down on the edge of the box. Gareth o Donnell stepped up a fired a rocket into the far top corner to give Tom Frizelle no chance.

Rattoo almost levelled matters immediately when Eddie Joy’s free kick was headed just over his own crossbar by James Sayers. Martin O’Connor then rushed down a short back pass and as the Annascaul keeper cleared it cannoned back off O’Connor and rolled wide of the goal.

It was all Rattoo at this stage as Annascaul seemed happy to defend in numbers and try hit Rattoo on the counter attack. Martin O’Connor again came close but his shot hit the butt of the post and rolled wide.

Annascaul nearly got through on the counter attack when Emmet Kennedy broke through the defence but was denied by a last ditch tackle from Rattoo’s Mikey Boyle. The final chance of the half fell to Shane Foley who headed over while under sever pressure from Padraig Harrington.

The Second half started very slowly just as the first half had finished and with the poring rain getting heavier it was becoming hard for the players to keep their footing.

Kevin O Connor nearly got Rattoo level but his well hit free kick was punched to safety by Tommy Pierce. Kevin Bowler was then introduced for Rattoo and he was to have a major say in the remainder of the match.

Within minutes of being on the pitch Padraig Harrington knocked the ball down in front of Bowler who hit the ball first time only to yet again see the ball hit the post.

Rattoo finally got level on the hour mark when in a crowded goal mouth scramble Martin O’Connor managed to slot it home. This seemed to wake Annascaul up and instead of sitting back soaking up the pressure they now came out on the attack and seven minutes later they were back in front from the penalty spot. Shane Foley was taken down as he entered the box and Emmet Kennedy stepped up and make no mistake to regain the lead.

With twenty minutes to go both teams had players receive red cards for an incident involving a number of players. Annascaul would now finish the game with nine players after Emmet Kennedy was sent off while Rattoo’s job of getting back into this game seemed to be impossible after they had Mikey Boyle and Sean McKenna both sent off and would finish with nine players.

With ten minutes remaining Kevin Bowler then stepped up to steal the show scoring twice in one minute.

The first a good strike from just inside the box and the second a great solo effort as he ran from just inside the half holding off the last defender before calmly rolling the ball passed the advancing keeper to give Rattoo an unlikely 3-2 lead with only nine minutes remaining.

Paul Flahive nearly levelled the game again with five minutes remaining when his header from a corner was saved by Tom Frizelle from point-blank range.

In the Final minute of the game Rattoo sealed the win. With Annascaul pushing men forward they were caught on the break. Cathal Kearney played John Paul Leahy through with only the keeper to beat and he dully oblige with the finish to secure a great win for the men from North Kerry .

Rattoo Rovers B: Tom Frizelle , Sean McKeanna , Mikey Boyle, Garry Lynch , Michael Hussey , Kevin o Connor , Eddie Joy , Padraig Harrington , Cathal Kearney, Seamus McCarthy , Martin o Connor . Subs; Padraig Hussey, Kevin Bowler , John Paul Leahy, Enda Godley, Brian Carroll .

Annascaul FC: Tommy Pierce, John Bowler , Noel Flahive, James Sayers, Paul Whelahan , Greg Ashe , Colm Sayers , Emmet Kennedy , Garth o Donnell , Declan Linsey , Shane Foley . Subs; Steven o Shea, Danny o Shea, Simon McCarthy .

Referee; Tom Sullivan

Comments are closed.