Denny Division 1A League Final 2013/14

Denny Division 1A League Final 2013/14

Kerry District League
Sunday 22nd June 2014
Inter Kenmare 3-0 Ballyhar Dynamos

By Tommy Naughton

Inter Kenmare were crowned Division 1A League champions on Sunday afternoon when they defeated Ballyhar Dynamos in a game that was in the balance until the final five minutes.

Both sides started the game well and passed the ball around showing no sign of nerves. The opening chance came as early as the second minute but Connie Cremin saw his header from a Josh Crowley Holland corner go wide at the back post.

Ballyhar reacted well and were only the width of the post stopped them from taking the lead. Dan O’Shea cut in from the right wing and played the ball into the path off Ed Kerrisk, his low shot across the face of the goal hit the bottom of the far post and the ball broke to Steven Moloney but Gary Cassidy reacted well to touch the ball around the near post.

Minutes later and Gary Cassidy again had to save at his hear post but this time after Dan O’Shea had collected John O’Mahoney’s long ball over the top. Just after the half hour mark Ed Kerrisk beat the Kenmare offside trap but saw his shot flash across the front of the goal and wide.

The heat was now beginning to take its toll as players began to make simple mistakes in passing and no team was able to build up any real possession. The final chance of the fist half fell to Sean Murphy who intercepted the ball on the edge of the box before beating two defenders as he made his way into the penalty area, his low shot looked goal bound until a superb block by Kevin O’Sullivan.

Ballyhar Dynamos had the first real chance of the second half after they were awarded a free kick just on the edge of the penalty area. Ger Fitzgerald took the free and saw it hit the outside of the Kenmare wall before going high to the back post to the unmarked Ed Kerrisk who seemed to only have to head the ball home until somehow Gary Cassidy again made a great save.

Inter now began to turn the screw and put more pressure on the Ballyhar defence and with Donal O’Sullivan Casey in superb form at the back for Kenmare they were able to push more men forward. This nearly paid off after a great solo run down the right wing by Stephen O’Shea who got to the end line before pulling the ball back to Connie Cremin and his firsts time shot was tipped over by Colm O’Shea.

Stephen O’Shea was now getting more and more into the game and looked like he could be the match winner with his surging runs. Midway through the second half O’Shea played a one two with Connie Cremin but he had to stretch to get any contact on his shot and was easily saved by Colm O’Shea.

The game was now entering the final ten minutes and it looked like it would be another league final in Kerry to go to a replay. Cathal Daly was close for Ballyhar from just outside the penalty area from a Dan O’Shea corner. Then with only three minutes remaining the opening goal f the game came. Stephen O’Shea took a Garryowen clearance from the sky on his chest and with his first touch got past the last defender before calmly rolling the ball passed the advancing keeper to give them a lead at a very late stage of the match.

Ballyhar now had to throw everything forward but within a minute they were two down with keeper Colm O’Shea took down Josh Crowley Holland in the penalty area. Regular penalty taker Josh Crowley Holland had to correctly leave the field of play after receiving treatment and Shannon Ryan took the responsibility of taking the spot kick which he made no mistake from sending it to the keepers right into the top corner.

The game was now over as a contest but their was still time for Connie Cremin to get on the score sheet in injury time. So with both sides promoted to Premier B next season it was nice to see the team who finished top of the division crowned League champions.

Inter Kenmare; Gary Cassidy, Matt Crowley Holland, Killian Harrington , Tom o Sullivan , Donal o Sullivan Casey, Sean Murphy, Stephen o Shea, Shannon Ryan, Connie Cremin, Josh Crowley Holland, Derdie o Sullivan Casey .

Inter Kenmare Fc

Ballyhar Dynamos; Colm o Shea, John o Mahoney, Ger Fitzgerald, Anthony McKenna, Kevin o Sullivan, Dan o Connor, Dan o Shea, Stephen Moloney, Ed Kerrisk, Kevin Casey, Cathal Daly . Subs , Seamus Flynn for Kevin Casey ( 67 mins) , Stephen Foley for Ger Fitzgerald ( 70 mins ) .

Ballyhar Dynamos Fc

Referee; Derek O’Shea
Assistant; Guy Djamen
Assistant; Adrian O’Shea

Match Officals and Captains